Faculty of Science

About Us
The Faculty of Science is one of the few Faculties that were established at the inception of the University in 2011/2012 academic session. The pioneer Dean of the Faculty was Prof. Martin O. Ogbe while the other past Deans in sequential order were Prof. Emmanuel Hala Kwon–Ndung, Prof. Dauda G. Yakubu, Prof. Ibrahim Garba Bassi and Prof. Nasirudeen Mohammed Baba.
The ten Departments in the Faculty offer ten programmes and each Department has a well articulated mission and clearly defined objectives in line with the vision, mission, motto and philosophy of the University. These ten programmes are designed to produce graduates who are conversant, in a broad sense, with the theories, principles and application of science with the appropriate IT skills, so that they could be resourceful, adaptive and innovative in their employment, be it in their field, research, or in industry and prepare them for lectureship in tertiary Institution and self–employment. The curriculum of each programme is also designed to meet and surpass the basic academic standards prescribed by the regulatory authorities such as National Universities Commission (NUC), and equipped our students to become intellectually resourceful and physically fit to emerge as leaders in their chosen disciplines and solutions providers in their future careers.
Our goals
*Science programmes are the bed–rock of technological development and therefore of national growth with attendant contribution to human welfare, health and progress.
*The training towards degree in the Sciences is fundamentally geared to ensuring that Nigeria possesses a critical mass of properly trained and highly competent scientists that will effectively facilitate the development of a sustainable and competitive modern economy that guarantees a very high standard of living and quality of life for its citizens.
*The training of competent scientists will enable Nigeria to be in a position to adequately utilize its vast natural resources to successfully transform its economy to that of one of the top global economies by leveraging on science, technology and innovation.
*The training in science needs to be thorough and relevant which will assure graduates employment opportunities or an environment whereby they could be creative, innovative and seek self–employment.
Deans profile
Matthew Olaleke Aremu currently works as Professor of Industrial Chemistry at Federal University of Lafia (FULafia), Nasarawa State, Nigeria. He is the current Dean of Faculty of Science and former Director of School of Basic and Remedial Studies at FULafia. He was a Pioneer and former Deputy Vice–Chancellor, Academic Services at Federal University Wukari (FUWukari), Taraba Sate, Nigeria. He obtained his B.Sc, M.Sc and PhD Industrial Chemistry from three Nigerian Universities of Ilorin, Lagos and Ado–Ekiti, respectively. Prof. Aremu also obtained certificate in Development of University Based Entrepreneurship Centre at Kennesaw University, Atlanta, USA between August and September, 2015.
He does research into isolation, structure, physicochemical characteristics & functional relationship of proteins and lipids of underexploited plant seeds and pulps. His research group has won Institution and TETFund research grants at different times. Prof. Aremu has published over one hundred and sixty peer–reviewed and scientific articles in different national and international journals of repute as principal/co–author, and participated in several regional and international conferences. He has successfully supervised and graduated 5 PhD and 10 M.Sc students. He has served as external examiner for undergraduate and postgraduate students in various Nigerian universities and also served as external assessor for candidates seeking promotions to professorial positions in Nigerian universities.
He has been associated with many learned societies such as Chemical Society of Nigeria (CSN), African Scientific Institute (ASI), Institute of Chartered Chemists of Nigeria (ICCON) and Nigerian Institute of Food Science and Technology (NIFST). He was elected and honoured with the Fellow of the prestigious Chemical Society of Nigeria (FCSN), Fellow of African Scientific Institute (FASI) and Fellow of Institute of Chartered Chemists of Nigeria (FICCON). He is a Certified Food Scientist of Nigeria (CFSN).
News Update
No news yet
Conference & Workshop

Welcome Address

You are welcome to the Faculty of Science, Federal University of Lafia. The Faculty is positioned in a well conducive academic environment, equipped with modern ICT driven and interactive teaching/learning facilities. Apart from the Departmental laboratories which give support to our practical and research activities; most of our highly committed and motivated faculty, staff and students carry out their research works at the state–of–the–art laboratories and workshops located at the Muhammadu Buhari TETFund Centre of Excellence (MBTCE) of the University. Some of the Postgraduate programmes run in the Faculty are: (i) PGD, M.Sc, M.Phil, PhD in Chemistry (ii) PGD, M.Sc, M.Phil, PhD in Mathematics (iii) M.Sc, M.Phil, PhD in Microbiology (iv) PGD, M.Sc, M.Phil, PhD in Physics (v) PGD, M.Sc, M.Phil, PhD in Plant Science and Biotechnology and (vi) M.Sc, M.Phil, PhD in Zoology. All the PG programmes have been resourced verified and approved by the NUC.


The Student Handbook of each Department contains the details of required courses and other specific requirements at the undergraduate level. It provides information to staff, students, parents and every individual interested in the academic programmes run in the Faculty of Science.

Select the fields to be shown. Others will be hidden. Drag and drop to rearrange the order.
  • Image
  • SKU
  • Rating
  • Price
  • Stock
  • Availability
  • Add to cart
  • Description
  • Content
  • Weight
  • Dimensions
  • Additional information
Click outside to hide the comparison bar