Faculty of Social Sciences

Brief History
Faculty of Social Sciences was created in 2011 as one of the pioneer faculties of the Federal University of Lafia. The Faculty is currently headed by Prof. Abdullahi D. Jibrin and made up of the following Departments: • Department of Criminology and Security Studies by Dr. I.H. Imam • Department of Economics headed by Dr. W.O. Ugwuoke • Department of Geography headed by Dr.M.K.Dahiru • Department of Mass Communication headed by Dr.T.A.Alemoh • Department of Political Science headed by Prof. M. Y.Dalhatu • Department of Psychology, headed by Dr.C.J.Takyun • Department of Social Work, headed by Dr.Dr.D.G.Ishor. • Department of Sociology, headed by Dr E. A. Gbaden
The philosophy of Faculty of Social Sciences mirrors that of the Univrsity. This is encapsulated in the ideals of (i) comprehensive education, (ii) local relevance of training and (iii) functionality of research and community service. 'Comprehensive education' implies that education must be of the right quality and scope to impact positively on development; 'local relevance of training' underscores the need to make training relevant to the development needs of the host-region and the country at large; 'functionality of research and community service' emphasizes the need to ensure that such activities yield impactful out-comes capable of solving societal problems. In line with the organizational philosophy of FULafia, the Faculty is committed to the pursuit of quality education, research and development. These tenets are encapsulated in the tripartite motto of the University: Integrity, Innovation and Excellence.
The Vision of the Faculty is to be a World-Class Centre for Training and Mentoring Social Scientists.
The Mission of the Faculty is to produce graduates capable of competing with their counterparts anywhere in the world and contributing meaningfully to national development.
Core Values
 Objectivity  Integrity  Excellence
Aims & Objectives
In pursuit of her vision and mission, the Faculty secks to:  provide a conducive learning environment for students of the Faculty  ensure objectivity in teaching and grading of students  promote mentorship in Social Science scholarship  nurture positive staff-student relationship towards effective teaching and learning.
Conference & Workshop


Welcome Address

The faculty is currently headed by Prof. Abdullahi D. Jibrin

Our Departments

The faculty has 7 Departments namely

Social Work

Political Science


Mass Communication

Select the fields to be shown. Others will be hidden. Drag and drop to rearrange the order.
  • Image
  • SKU
  • Rating
  • Price
  • Stock
  • Availability
  • Add to cart
  • Description
  • Content
  • Weight
  • Dimensions
  • Additional information
Click outside to hide the comparison bar