Academic Regulations

A Roman saying has it, - ubi societas jus- wherever there is a society, there must be laws. The modern University is a multi varsity, a community of many professionals and students drawn from varied cultural backgrounds. Some rules and regulations are necessary to guide behaviour within such a community, promoteharmony check excesses and ensure an atmosphere conducive for the achievement of the goals for which a University is set up.

This page is the student's companion and guide throughout his/her stay in the University. It sets out the rules pertaining to virtually all aspects of a students life on campus right from the day he/she gains admission into the University till the day he/she graduates. The University graduates only those students who have met its requirements in character and learning

Students are therefore strongly advised to read through this page, for ignorance of the law is not an excuse especially for University students. There may be other rules of specific nature not covered by this page. Such rules are as important as those contained herein.

Admission Requirements

Temporary Withdrawal



Academic Counselling


Definition of a Credit Unit

Student Academic Workload

Concurrent Enrolment

Duration of Semester

Continuous Assessment

Final Examination

Grading System

Appeals for Reassessment

Incomplete Grade

Absence from an Examination

Grade Point (GP)

Grade Point Average (GPA)

Cumulative Grade Point Average (CGPA)

Repeat Course Grade

Clear Standing or (Good Standing)

Carry-Over of Courses:

Academic Probation

Withdrawal for Academic Failure (WAF)

Inter/Intra-Faculty Transfer

Transfer From other Institutions

Transfer of Credit Units from other Institutions

Publication of Results

Attendance Registers

Duration of Programmes

Graduation Requirements for Bachelor's Degree

Final Classification of Degree

The Federal University Lafia is a recently established University situated in Lafia, the capital of Nasarawa State in 2010 by the Goodluck Jonathan administration as one of the nine new Federal Universities established in the six geo-political zones of Nigeria.

The University commenced academic activities by September 2012 with new students that made up the first set of students to be trained by the University Vice Chancellor, Prof. Ekanem Ikpi Braide. - Read More

  • Hawlett Package
  • Google Play
  • Linkedin
  • Google
  • Ebay
  • Hawlett Package
  • Google Play
  • Linkedin
  • Google
  • Ebay