News and Updates

News & Update

Home >News & Update

The management of Federal University of Lafia (FULafia), has inaugurated the new Students’ Representative Council (SRC) officials for the 2019/2020 academic session.

Speaking at the inauguration ceremony of the SRC officials, the Vice-Chancellor of FULafia, Professor Muhammed Sanusi Liman, congratulated the new officials, urging them to protect the interests of the students and uphold the dignity of the university at all times.

The vice-chancellor, who was represented by the Registrar, FULafia, Dr. Abubakar Mamuda, said that the management would continue to make living conditions better for the students, adding: "Don't hesitate to let us know areas where the management can improve in its relationship with the students."

Prof. Liman said that his doors would always be open to the students' leaders, calling on the SRC members to lead exemplary lifestyles.

Liman, while urging students to remain loyal to constituted authorities, said: "Do not hesitate to channel your grievances to appropriate authorities and desist from taking laws into your hands."

In his welcome address, the Dean, Students Affairs Division, Dr. H.I. Imam assured the management that the division has carefully observed, interacted and selected the best performing academic students across various departments and faculties to pilot the affairs of students for the 2019/2020 academic session.

He said that the university would continue to address the plight of students, calling on the students to be good ambassadors of the university.

Speaking on behalf of the inaugurated members, the SRC President, Yusuf Mustapha Muhammad, from the Department of Sociology, praised the vice-chancellor for his fatherly support, promising to uphold the trust and faith the students, as well as the management, have reposed in him.

The highpoint of the occasion was the swearing-in of leaders of the union by the Deputy Registrar, Legal Unit, Barr. Ignatius Efiom.

Principal officers who attended the ceremony were the bursar, represented by Mr. Wilson Daniel, librarian, Dr. (Mrs.) Rebecca Ape, Mrs. Nkang, the deputy registrar, academic affairs, and Mr. A. Dayo, head of SERVICOM.